Out of Africa, Again – Surprise Birthday Party, Day 1

Friday, 8 April 2016 – After the dhow trip, we went to the bar at the Driftwood where some of the other ‘party people’ were gathered for drinks and lunch.  I had eaten two samosas on the dhow so I was not hungry; I had a pina colada.  There were a couple of regulars at the bar including Barry Koenecke whose work graces the walls of the bar.

I walked the 500 metres from the Driftwood to the Silversand Residences where I showered and washed the sea from my hair, then I had a nap.  I woke about an hour before sunset; I got dressed and walked over to Neem House.  More people had arrived. This was the first ‘official’ day of the party.  Ella’s invitation had stipulated that Friday’s festivities would begin at around 2 p.m. and that we should bring a bottle.  I still had about half of the box of wine left.

There was eating and drinking, dancing and laughing.  Krista showed a slide show of photos that she had taken or that had been taken of her.  They were brilliant!

Beautiful Party People

 

Leave a Reply

