Out of Africa, Again – Surprise Birthday Party, Day 2

Saturday, 9 April 2016 – I had a breakfast of strong coffee with heated milk, a plate of fruit, and an omelette.  It was raining and there was a blinding flash of lightning followed immediately by deafening thunder. Later, one of the housekeeping staff said that the lightning strike had killed three children.  I really hoped the rumour was totally false.

Bar at the Driftwood

I headed to the Driftwood and bellied up to the bar.  I ordered a Pina Colada.  After a while, people who were attending the private function began to arrive.  It was a fabulous party. I said my toast but got choked up so it was even shorter than what I had written in the airport waiting for my flight to Kenya.  The notes in my journal read, “I met Krista in Maun, Botswana when she was just 23 years old.  She was full of light.  In the years since 1989, Krista has become a mother and a successful business woman.  Her achievements have not made her arrogant, and her trials have not diminished her light.  I would like to propose a toast to Krista – ‘Keep on shining!'”.

Dancing at the Driftwood

Saturdays the Driftwood hosts a Mongolian buffet so there was lots of good food.  Roger had hired a DJ so there was lots of good music.  There was lots of drinking and dancing and it was lots and lots and lots of fun.  At one point, I stepped outside and looked up; I nearly started to cry.  I will always be awed by the African night sky.

Leave a Reply

