Out of Africa, Again – My Last Day in Kenya

10 April 2016 – Kenya Airways changed the Malindi – Nairobi flight to 10 a.m. so I lost my last day in Malindi but because I am the luckiest girl in the world, I ran into Roger, the owner of the Driftwood, in the little bookshop at the Malindi Airport.  He was buying a newspaper and I was buying When a Crocodile Eats the Sun by Peter Godwin.  When Roger heard that I had a twelve-hour layover in Nairobi, he suggested that I go to the Ole-Sereni Hotel.  It is very close to the airport and has a bar (The Waterhole) with a view of Nairobi National Park.

13403744_10154022779465860_8632929407933897624_oBending it like Beckham

A man at Nairobi airport asked me if I needed a taxi.  I said, “Maybe”.  I was trying to find if there was more to do in the departures part of the airport than there was in the arrivals, and sadly, it seemed that the two coffee shops outside at the airport were the only places to eat.  I honestly could not imagine spending twelve hours there so Daniel Kariuki who works for Trova Viaggi Kenya, brought me to Ole-Sereni.  My flight was scheduled to board at 10:20 p.m. and Daniel said he would come back at 8 p.m. to return me to the airport.

13418429_10154022780085860_6596799223342669082_o

I had lunch and then I went to the spa where I had aloe gently rubbed into my poor burned back.  After returning to Singapore, I kept pulling strips of black/grey skin off my back which had bubbled up in the most grotesque way.  When I first started pulling it off, I didn’t recognize it as my skin!

Anyway,  I have fallen in love again with Africa.  It feels a little like having fallen for a lover’s cousin or, maybe even, brother.  I never imagined that I would love East Africa the way that I love Southern Africa but I have learned that ‘never’ is a word I should never use.

 

 

Leave a Reply

