Andrea’s Adventures in the Land Down Under (2014) – Alice Springs

Exactly half way between Adelaide and Darwin lies Alice Springs, Northern Territory.  It is, without a doubt, a desert town. Lots of aborigines can be seen on the streets and there are loads of birds. I also saw a pool cleaning robot – no kidding!  When it would surface, its wheels made a squeaking noise like a dolphin which made me laugh every time.

I stayed in two hotels in Alice. I had originally planned to spend a night in King’s Canyon but that didn’t happen so I had an extra night in Alice Springs. The first hotel,  the Alice Motor Inn, was on the east side in a more suburban area and had the pool cleaning robot.  The second hotel, the Desert Rose Inn, was near to the train station and Anzac Hill.  Both of the hotels had swimming pools, kitchens, and coin-operated laundries. They were both $90 AUD

At the reception desk of the Desert Rose Inn, I was able to arrange a trip to the Desert Park which was, quite simply, amazing – I wish I had got an earlier start or had a second day as there is so much to see and do.  The driver who took me there and picked me up said some people complain that there is nothing to do!?!

alice-springs-desert-park

That evening I went for a walk and ended up at the Aurora.  I had Emu Salad, a bottle of wine, and a  conversation with the staff.  One of the staff was a young woman from Korea, and another was from Argentina.

The next day I climbed Anzac Hill to see the panoramic view of Alice Springs and the MacDonnell Ranges, then went to Hungry Jack’s, an Australian fast food restaurant,  to get some breakfast.  I went back to the hotel, checked out, and finally was able to get on-line.

Leave a Reply

